About the Institute
Research @ CITA
Working @ CITA
Events & Calendar
Contact & Visitor Info
Events and Calendar
Sackler Lectures

CITA's association with Raymond Sackler began when Scott Tremaine, CITA Director ``emeritus'', was a Sackler Scholar in Cambridge, and was followed by a visit to Sackler in NY to interest him in CITA. Simon Lilly, a ``star'' in the UofT Astronomy Department, had also been a Sackler Scholar in Cambridge. In August 1996, the Sacklers made an endowment of $55,000 CDN to fund the Raymond and Beverly Sackler Visiting Astrophysicist Program to support an internationally distinguished theorist who would visit CITA, give two talks, one major popular presentation and one more technical, and strongly interact with our CITAzens. CITA considers the Sackler Lecture period ''to be the highlight of the academic year at CITA, and to play a prominent role in the Institute's academic life''.

2014 - Joe Silk

Professor Joe Silk is one of the world's leading cosmologists, with over 500 publications covering the leading edge questions about our Universe that have arisen in every decade stretching back to the period when the photon afterglow of the Big Bang was first discovered in the mid-60s. He is especially known for the theory of inhomogeneities of this cosmic microwave background, how they are influenced by density fluctuations in the matter in the early epochs of the universe, and how they are ``Silk-damped'' at small scales, results verified with high precision, most recently by the Planck satellite. He has made pioneering advances in understanding the nature of dark matter, and explored novel indirect methods for its detection from its annihilation in cosmic collisions in the core regions of galaxies, inspiring very large experiments with new types of telescopes to observe the predicted gamma ray emissions. Silk's studies of galaxy formation and the important role energetic feedback from quasars, star explosions, and related processes play in determining their formation and evolution have been equally influential.

2011 - Donald Lynden-Bell

Prof. Lynden-Bell is a world renowned expert on galactic dynamics, accretion disks, and black holes.

2010 - Leonard Susskind

Professor Leonard Susskind, one of the world's most influential theoretical physicists and the man who coined the term "cosmic landscape," is Felix Bloch Professor in theoretical physics at Stanford University.

2009 - Jerry Ostriker

Jeremiah Ostriker was the founding director of the Princeton Institute for Computational Science and Engineering, provost of Princeton University, Plumian Professor of Astronomy and Experimental Philosophy at the University of Cambridge, England, and, for 15 years, the Chairman of the Department of Astrophysical Sciences at Princeton.

2008 - Roger Blandford

Roger Blandford, FRS, FAAAS, a Cambridge graduate, is the founding Director of the Kavli Institute of Particle Astrophysics and Cosmology at Stanford University and SLAC, which he took up after 27 years as a Caltech professor.

2007 - Kip Thorne

Kip Thorne was cofounder of the LIGO (Laser Interferometer Gravitational Wave Observatory) Project, with which he is still associated. He is a member of the LISA (Laser Interferometer Space Antenna) International Science Team.

2006 - Scott Tremaine

Scott Tremaine, the first Director of the Canadian Institute for Theoretical Astrophysics, is a Fellow of the Royal Society of London and of Canada, and a member of the U.S. National Academy of Sciences.

2005 - Rashid Sunyaev

Rashid Sunyaev is a renowned scientist working in the fields of high-energy astrophysics and cosmology.

2004 - Christopher McKee

Prof. Christopher McKee is a member of the National Academy of Sciences, a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, and of the American Physical Society.

2003 - George Efstathiou

Professor George Efstathiou is one of the world's best known cosmologists.

2002 - Andrei Linde

Professor Andre Linde of Stanford University, is the author of about 200 publications on cosmology and particle physics and two books on Early Universe cosmology.

2001 - John Bahcall

Prof. Bahcall is the recipient of many prestigious awards including the U.S. National Medal of Science, the Hans Bethe Prize of the American Physics Society and the Russell Prize of the American Astronomical Society.

2000 - Jim Peebles

Prof. Peebles is a theoretical cosmologist who has played a central role in the understanding of the evolution and structure of the universe.

1999 - Frank Shu

Frank Shu, a past president of the American Astronomical Society, is a Professor of Astronomy at the University of California, Berkeley,

1998 - Peter Goldreich

Prof. Goldreich is a Lee A. DuBridge Professor of Astrophysics and Planetary Physics whose recent research interests include planetary rings, helioseismology and neutron stars.

1997 - Sir Martin Rees

Sir Martin Rees, once Chairman of the European Space Agency's Scientific Advisory Committee, was CITA's first Sackler visitor.