About the Institute
Research @ CITA
Working @ CITA
Events & Calendar
Contact & Visitor Info
About the Institute

The Canadian Institute for Theoretical Astrophysics is a nationally supported research center for studies in theoretical astronomy and related subjects hosted by the University of Toronto.

CITA receives research support from an NSERC collaborative special project grant, as well as the Canadian Institute for Advanced Research .

CITA's primary missions are to foster interaction within the Canadian theoretical astrophysics community and to serve as an international center of excellence for theoretical studies in astrophysics.

CITA Council and Bylaws

CITA is both an Institute within the Faculty of Arts and Sciences of the University of Toronto, and a non-profit corporation (CITA, Inc.). Relations between the two CITAs are governed by a Letter of Agreement between CITA Inc. and the University of Toronto that was signed in 1989. The CITA Council consists of seven members, five selected from the CITA Inc. membership of over 50 researchers in co-operation with the Canadian Astronomical Society (of which they must also be members), and two ex officio: the Director of CITA and the Dean of the Faculty of Arts and Sciences of the University of Toronto or their designate. Members of CITA Council as of May 27, 2013 are:


The Canadian Institute for Advanced Research (CIFAR) supports a number of programs chosen for their high intellectual promise and interdisciplinary character. Several CITA faculty are CIFAR Fellows, Scholars or Associates.


CITA reports on all its activities at the Canadian Astronomical Society (CASCA) Annual General Meeting every spring. All of the reports are available here.